top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBenjamin Ayres

Google Slides- The Powerhouse of the Google Suite

I would like to enhance my Professional Development courses with Google Slides. Many of the learning management systems that we are using have the ability to attach and sync with Google Suite so being able to use Google Apps is essential. There are many Google applications that I enjoy using and many have different uses for different times but the most versatile application is Google Slides. Currently, I have students submitting screenshots of their completed work and writing a lot of reflections. By incorporating Google Slides I can have students develop their own projects, edit them, and submit them inside my Google Classroom. I could even have groups work together on a slide, worksheet, or create collages and workflows on slides. The Google Slide tool addresses many ISTE student standards like digital citizenship, creative collaborator, innovative designer, and knowledge constructor. I could also incorporate a lot of ELA common core standards depending on what kinds of reflection questions I am looking for in the slides. Moving forward, I think Google Slides is one of the most valuable and versatile tools in my arsenal of Google technology tools. I can use it for presentations, reflections, or to create virtual classrooms, fillable worksheets, or Hyperdocs. It is also great for adding feedback and creating collaborative projects. I have also just started to experiment with add ons like PearDeck which may put an entirely new spin on my virtual class presentations. I plan on modeling the use of Google tools by creating training, processes, and procedures within our school that incorporate the tools in practical, efficient ways. I will also be using them in Professional Development. Modeling is important because it shows the practical uses of the tools and provides best practices moving forward. I plan on using Google tools to develop a Google Educator Masters Class for professional development at our school. I plan on going through each application and various uses for each application in preparation for teachers to take the Google Educator test. I am really looking forward to teaching Google Suite next year to my faculty and staff. I know they will find Google Suite as useful as I do and I am looking forward to the innovative ways that they incorporate it into their classrooms.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Instructional Design

My initial thoughts on instructional design is that I currently use many of the concepts addressed in much of the professional literature that I read. I may not go deep enough in my presentation or d

bottom of page